This blog is of, by and for the progressive members of our Jefferson County community. Our mission is to provide information about fellow progressives for all to view, to provide a forum for forward looking candidates and to offer other varied items of interest. Your opinion is important to this blog and if you wish to write us an item or send us a picture please email it to THIS BLOG IS NOT AN OFFICIAL BLOG OF THE JEFFERSON COUNTY DEMOCRATIC COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Six of a mind--across party lines

Today, a bipartisan group of legislators representing the North Country signed a joint letter supporting the creation of a stand-alone, limited access, four lane highway across the northern tier of New York State. The letter is being sent to Senator Kirsten Gillibrand in support of funding over the next five years in the extension of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU). In addition, the letter indicates their support of an aggressive time frame for the “Roof Top Highway” to be built instead of a protracted phased approach, which had originally been suggested. The group of legislators includes: Assembly members Addie Russell, Dede Scozzafava, and Janet Duprey, along with Senators Darrel Aubertine, Betty Little, and Joseph Griffo.